The Gossiper


Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin  is a Ghanaian politician who is currently the Speaker of the Parliament of Ghana. He was elected on Thursday January 7, 2021 in a closely contested elections at the Parliament house of Ghana. He is now the 8th Speaker of Parliament of the Fourth Republic of Ghana. He was the Minister for Health in the Ghana government from January 2012 until February 2013 when Hanny-Sherry Ayittey took over the position. He served as the Member of Parliament for Nadowli West constituency in the Upper West Region of Ghana in the 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th parliaments of the 4th republic of Ghana.


Bagbin was born on 24 September 1957. He hails from Sombo, Upper West Region of Ghana. Alban Bagbin was educated at Wa Secondary School and Tamale Secondary School. He obtained a Bachelor of Arts degree in Law and English at the University of Ghana in 1980. He proceeded to the Ghana School of Law at Makola in Accra after which he was called to the bar in 1982. Bagbin also earned an Executive Masters in Governance and Leadership from the Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration (GIMPA). After law school, he worked in the private sector as an attorney, rising to become a partner in the Akyem Chambers, a law firm of legal practitioners, consultants and notaries public.

Bagbin is a member of the National Democratic Congress. He was first elected into Parliament in the 1992 General Elections.  He represented the Nadowli West Constituency in the Upper West Region. Bagbin announced his intentions to run for president in 2008 on the NDC ticket, but he never stood for the primaries. He became the Majority Leader in the Ghanaian parliament in 2009.

Following a cabinet reshuffle in January 2010, he was appointed Minister for Water Resources, Works and Housing by President Mills. He was also the Majority Leader of Parliament under President Mahama’s tenure of office, he succeeded Benjamin Kunbuor, who was appointed as the Minister of Defense. He also served as the Second Deputy Speaker of Parliament from January 2017 to January 2021.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *